PG Music Home
Posted By: michaelg Stormy Monday - 11/24/18 09:03 AM
Hey Guys,
I'm trying to figure out how to do something I may not be able to do. If you are familiar with Stormy Monday, especially the Allman Brothers version, in Bar 9 there is a walk up after the D9 (or D7) chord before going into the F9 chord in bar 10. I'm not a trained musician, but I suspect it's triplets that goes D9, D#9, E9 landing on F9 on the downbeat of bar 10. Is it possible for me to make this work in BIAB?

Thanks in advance. I'm using various 12/8 slow blues styles in BIAB, with tempo around 65-70. On this YouTube video it's around :50 into the song. https://youtu.be/Bqa1s4jhkQ8

Happy Holidays

Michael
Posted By: BlueAttitude Re: Stormy Monday - 11/24/18 10:15 AM
Are you transposing the song? The original is in G I think.

I play it like:
|G7 |C9 |G7 Ab7|G7 |C9 |C9 |G7 Am|Bm Bbm |Am |C9 |G7 C9|G7 D9|

Which is pretty similar to the ABB version I think. You can easily do that in BIAB. Try those chords (or transpose if you wanted a different key)
Posted By: DrDan Re: Stormy Monday - 11/24/18 12:44 PM
BIAB has a nice "style" for this tune some real tracks and a nice walking bass. Here is my old version. You may need to adjust the chords for the ABB changes.

Attached picture Capture.PNG
Posted By: chulaivet1966 Re: Stormy Monday - 11/24/18 02:11 PM
Originally Posted By: BlueAttitude
I play it like:
|G7 |C9 |G7 Ab7|G7 |C9 |C9 |G7 Am|Bm Bbm |Am |C9 |G7 C9|G7 D9|

OP....see above....

I have about 18 songs I play as my practice playlist.
I've been playing the ABB version (I like the Lee Micheals version too) for decades.
I play it similar to Blueattitude except I play a Cm rather than a C9 and a D7 rather than the D9. (see bold above)

Not saying either is better or more accurate....just wanted to throw out how I've always played it.
That ABB version is soooo slow in tempo I can almost doze off.
So...I play it with just a bit higher tempo.

Hope that helps....