PG Music Home
Posted By: r2j2h Newbie practice vocal set-up - 03/03/19 01:56 PM
Hi All,

Apologies for the newbie questions, but I'm completely new to all things technical and vocal. My 12 year old son is the lead singer of a band at school. The guitarists and drummer obviously have kit at home to practice with, but we'd like to get him a microphone and stand with an amp or something, so he can practice his vocals at home.

He sometimes forgets not to move around when he's singing and the school tend to set them up with a fixed mic, so his voice isn't always captured. We thought by having a small set-up at home it might help him figure out what works for him with regards to his mic technique and ensuring he can always be heard. He also takes singing lessons and sings as part of a chamber choir so the mic set-up would be useful for all of his vocal practice.

We have no idea what to buy. Having researched microphones the Shure SM58 seemed to be a good option so I've ordered one of those from a music store, but beyond that we're lost. What cables, amp, etc should we get? Does the mic plug straight into the amp? Any help you could all provide would be much appreciated!!

TIA
Posted By: DrDan Re: Newbie practice vocal set-up - 03/03/19 03:26 PM
I am kinda spitballing it here, but...

The beauty of being a vocalist is that you don't need much other than your voice to carry around with you to make music.

The SM58 is a well rated work horse mic for vocalists who need amplification. You will certainly need a mic-cable (~30USD at you local music store) to plug it in.

As far as what you plug it into, for live performance generally vocals will be sent to the main House PA. The house will then also generally have any monitors for the vocalist.

For recording the mic will often go direct-in to the Audio interface or mixer then the computer.