PG Music Home
Hi. My first post on the BIAB Forum and I hope someone can help with my problem.
I'm a jazz singer (started fairly recently) and purchased BIAB through LearnJazzStandards.com to generate some backing tracks to practice some material to sing at jam sessions. The musicians I play with all use IReal Pro so they can alter the key to suit the range of my voice.
Here's an example of a typical problem:
The chords in the LJS backing track of "Autumn in New York" in key of C are different from those in iReal Pro (C)
LJS first bar - Gm7 Bm7
IReal first bar Dm7 Em7
This difference applies to all the LJS songs I have looked at so far.
As I'm very new to BIAB, is there something I need to do to correct this?
Any thoughts, comments or suggestions would be very welcome.
Thanks
Charles
Welcome to the forum.

I have found the chords in the iRealPro app to be correct most of the time. You have to realize that users can upload songs of various accuracy, but the standards like this one are usually OK. In this case, "IReal first bar Dm7 Em7" is correct for the key of C.

I never heard of LJS so I looked at their website, but I would have to join to be able to see a chart. In this case, the first two chords could not be correct for any key of Autumn in New York. If the song were in F, it would start Gm7, Am7.

There are many standards available online for BIAB as well. Search for them using Google. A user, Notes Norton (nortonmusic.com) also offers fakebooks for sale of songs already in BIAB format.
Since everybody is using iRealPro I advise you to use it too. It's $14 and is either IOS or Android. I use Android. For that little money you're on the same page as everybody else and all you need to do is copy the chords from iRealPro into Biab and everybody's happy. I agree maybe 90% of the jazz standards are close enough for beginners. BUT...