PG Music Home
Posted By: Brewzdude guitar note layout - 04/08/20 06:19 PM
So I'm new to BIAB and I consider myself a beginner guitarist. I've been using songs that I have found here & there and when I open the guitar notation the notes that are playing are typically on one string, like from the 3rd fret to the 15th fret of the low E string. That just doesn't seem right, I like to play in a box on all strings, it's just easier with less hand movement. Every time I have tried to correct it, then save the song when I open it back up the save didn't work. What am I doing wrong? What good is the program if you can't make changes? It would be okay if it transcribed properly. Am I missing a setting somewhere?
The files typically have a MGU or SGU file extension
I've been using Guitar Pro for 3 years and switched to BIAB because it sounds better.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Posted By: AudioTrack Re: guitar note layout - 04/09/20 02:10 AM
Generally speaking, you can only change/amend notation on the Melodist and Soloist tracks. BiaB will generate its own arrangements on the other tracks.

If you are using MIDI on the other tracks (yellow), you can possibly freeze the tracks after you make any changes, and then save the song. When you next open the song, your changes should have been preserved.

If you are using RealTracks on those tracks (green), then any changes you make are not preserved, as these are Audio files, not MIDI. Some RealTracks have notation available, which is just a transcription from the artist produced audio.

Hope this helps.
Posted By: MarioD Re: guitar note layout - 04/09/20 12:24 PM
Brewzdude, great name BTW, that is not right. I need a little more information though.
Are you playing the part or is it a BiaB part?
What style are you using?
What is your OS? Mac or PC?

The more information you can give the better the responses will be.

Note I have not seen your problem before.

Have you tried a factory reset, i.e. return to factory settings?