PG Music Home
Posted By: jo59 Midi File [Resolved] - 07/03/21 05:54 AM
hello I have a midi file when I listen to the guitar chords one at a time with the numpad only one note plays, not the complete chord because? thanks if someone explains me
Posted By: Bob Calver Re: Midi File - 07/03/21 09:10 AM
maybe someone more knowledgeable can help but i've never tried to play a midi file chord by chord. are you sure that the note you are getting is not the note the number pad is sending to the synth?

which program are you using? if you are using RB you can select the bit of the midi file you want to play but it will be a bit tedious
Posted By: jo59 Re: Midi File - 07/03/21 11:29 AM
i use a BIAB midi file, thanks i'm studying the guitar part of a midi song playing the chords one by one with the delete key of the numpad of some chords only one note plays, not the complete chord
Posted By: MarioD Re: Midi File - 07/03/21 12:14 PM
Have you looked at either the piano roll view or the notation view to see if there is a full chord there? Many times a guitarist will only play one note followed by the full chord.
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Midi File - 07/03/21 12:54 PM
Make sure Play > Wizard Playalong feature is not enabled.

Description: Wizard Playalong feature
Attached picture Clipboard01.jpg
Posted By: Noel96 Re: Midi File - 07/03/21 01:24 PM
Hi jo59,

"Play >> Step Advance" is a Notation Mode feature. To see and hear this operate, it's best to set BIAB to "Notation Mode."

The reason that you are only hearing one note at a time is because when you load a MIDI file, the file loads entirely on the Melody track. This is how BIAB works. It's not a DAW.

BIAB's Guitar, Piano, Bass, (etc.) tracks are reserved for BIAB's backing and do not load MIDI files onto them.