PG Music Home
Posted By: Wysocki How do I combine repeats and coda? - 12/29/21 05:06 PM
New to BIAB, thought I'd enter a "simple" song - Margaritaville. Has anyone been able to code this song?

• I entered a 7 bar intro.
  • I entered a 16 bar verse and 16 bar chorus.
  • I made the verse/chorus repeat 4 times (2 vocal / 1 instrumental / 1 vocal).
  • I added a 4 bar tag ending.

Now I need help: I'd like the 3rd repeat to use a fuller style than the others. Any way to indicate that?

But my major issue is that on the 4th repeat, I want to eliminate the last 2 bars of the chorus, and jump to the tag ending. This would be like a DS al Coda but only on the last repeat. I've watched the Youtube tutorial on DS coda but I can't figure out how to make it work on this song with 4 repeats.
Posted By: Noel96 Re: How do I combine repeats and coda? - 12/29/21 05:40 PM
Hi Wysocki,

Instead of using repeats, I strong encourage you to lay your song out in a once-through format. Doing it this way, makes it very easy to control every section. By copying and pasting, it's also very quick to layout a song from start to finish.

The below song I wrote is a video of BIAB's chordsheet that will show you how I laid out the song from start to finish. I have used the blue and green part markers to define each section. The song is in the AABA format. Blue part markers introduce an accompaniment that has less movement than green part markers. Part markers are set by repeatedly clicking on bar numbers (1 click = blue, 2 clicks = green, 3 clicks = no part marker).

https://vimeo.com/143978481

Because it was in linear format, it was very easy to control bars, changing time signatures, keys and effects.

Intro = bars 1 - 4

First A-Section = bars 5 - 13; bar 13 is 2/4 (the song is written in 4/4)

Second A-Section = bars 14 - 22; bar 22 is 2/4

Bridge = bars 23 - 32; bar 23 sets the key to D major and bar 27 sets the key to A major