PG Music Home
Posted By: dbarrow How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 04:59 PM
I downloaded a BIAB version of Blue Bossa from an online collection of standards. At the third chorus a piano starts playing a solo and then switches to a trombone playing a solo. Neither of these show up in the mixer so I can't mute them. How do I find these and either delete them of turn them off. I am a relative beginner when it comes to sorting this stuff out in songs written by other people.
Posted By: MoultiPass Re: How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 06:16 PM
The track generally named Silence? It's a Medley.
Posted By: dbarrow Re: How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 06:28 PM
I want to clear all solo parts. There is no track named silence. I don't understand your reply.
Posted By: MoultiPass Re: How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 06:33 PM
During the reading of your solo you pass the tracks one by one in "solo". When you have found the right one you edit the audio, you select the wrong part and you erase. Do not regenerate (you have to freeze the track) because otherwise you recreate the solo.
Posted By: Gordon Scott Re: How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 08:06 PM
Originally Posted By: dbarrow
I want to clear all solo parts. There is no track named silence. I don't understand your reply.

The track name shows the first instrument in the medley, it isn't by any means always "Silence".

I guess the medley (probably) is on the soloists track, but you can check by soloing the tracks to identify it.

Then you can click the track in the mixer and select no RealTrack, or no midi instrument and/or track actions->erase to remove whichever parts are appropriate.

I hope all that makes sense when you get there as I don't have BiaB in front of me and that's by memory.
Posted By: rharv Re: How to find and get rid of solos? - 01/14/22 08:12 PM
Is it on the Soloist track?
Do you see it anywhere in the mixer?