PG Music Home
Posted By: lambada Piano Roll etc - 03/03/19 05:57 AM
Really enjoying the flexibility of BIAB note editor etc for writing melody lines using midi. Very impressive.
Posted By: pianowillbebach Re: Piano Roll etc - 04/07/19 12:59 PM
Hi! I'm new to BIAB and MIDI programs in general. How specifically is BIAB more flexible than other options?
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Piano Roll etc - 04/07/19 07:54 PM
Hello pianowillbebach,

Welcome to the forum. I'm glad you want to know more about Band-in-a-Box; however to better answer your question we need more information.

What software programs do you want to compare Band-in-a-Box against? There are very few intelligent automatic accompaniment software programs to compare against.
Posted By: pianowillbebach Re: Piano Roll etc - 04/08/19 07:25 PM
How about musescore and sibelius? Those are two that seem to be very popular.
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: Piano Roll etc - 04/08/19 10:06 PM
Both Musescore and Sibelius are excellent programs but I don't believe either are automatic accompaniment software. MuseScore, Sibelius and Finale are programs primarily intended to write, format and print music scores. Several forum users use one or more of these programs to print out professional quality music scores.

Band-in-a-Box includes scoring but the scoring capability is different and less sophisticated than these programs. Band-in-a-Box's strength is it has the capability to automatically create accompaniment tracks once the user selects a style, key, tempo and inputs chords.

Let me give you an extreme example. Note: I'm not saying anyone would ever want to create the example I'm about to give, just that a program user can if they want to.

Let's say a user wants to create a Heavy Rock version of the well known children's song, "ABC" or "Alphabet" song. We can do that and it will take just a few minutes, even if you can't read or write music.