Off-Topic
K
Keebo Offline OP
Apprentice
OP Offline
Apprentice
K
Hey guys and gals,

A lot of you have been down this road before so I figured you might could advise me on what I should do.

I am a somewhat average guitarist and singer by nature and have been trying to learn to play the keyboard here recently. My skills have been less than optimum in my own opinion but I would like try and play in front of a crowd to make me want to try harder.

I recently discussed with an owner of a restaurant that I might could provide entertainment in his establishment as a one man band type of show. I was possibly under the influence at the time because we were all there watching Alabama in the BCS championship football game. Roll Tide!

I told him that I could possibly perform for free initially in his bar (which is probably smaller than my home studio) just to get out and enjoy what I have always wanted to do. He said that he has had karaoke before and would like to try something to get more business in there. He is dating my girlfriend's sister so that is my connection.

I have around 50 original songs that I feel comfortable playing and about the same number of '70-'80's pop/rock cover songs. I don't know if they have the rights for me to play cover songs so I was wondering what the deal was concerning copyrights and such. This might be my way out as I am totally nervous about the whole thing.

My laptop is as old as the dust (anyone remember 16 MG of RAM) so it would not be possible to use it for the gig. I have plenty of options for sound which includes a recently acquired iPod Touch loaded with musical apps (anyone who owns one should check out the available options).

As a musician, where is the line drawn for a karaoke player and a one man band? I have read many threads on other forums concerning backing tracks performed live and how there is no difference to karaoke players (not that there is anything wrong with that).