Print Thread
Go To
#190548 01/15/13 08:53 PM
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
W
OP Offline
W
Hello

I am a new owner of BIAB 2013, and it seems like it may be some fun software – if I ever get it running.

First off – I am not a recording engineer or computer geek. I am a singer-songwriter-guitar player.

I have been recording successfully in a home studio using Cubase 6 coupled with a Lexicon Omega for several years. Cubase uses the ASIO drivers in the Lexicon Omega.

So I set up BIAB 2013 to utilize the ASIO in the Omega .. and every time I try to use BIAB I get the following admonishment.

“Error creating ASIO buffer Access violation at 00A06185 in module bbw.exe
Write of address 00000004 at 00A06185”

Then it doesn’t play at all and then freezes up.

Nice that it tells me I have an error, but I am left with no suggestion of what I can do to correct it.

If I switch the audio setting to MME … perhaps one track will play, MIDI seems totally absent.

Now fully realizing my technical short-comings I have spent some time in the PG help chat and been put through the cycle of reboot, change the drivers in Real Band (which I have yet to use at all) and reboot … change the drivers in BIAB .. reboot … this cycle is endless and accomplishes absolutely nothing.
PG chat support seems to be right there and well meaning .. but I am getting nowhere.
At the end PG support suggested that Windows itself is using the Omega ASIO and BIAB can’t operate if another program is using it. (Win7 takes control of an ASIO DAW) ?

This is a dedicated computer, music creation only.

The only productive programs on this computer is Cubase 6, BIAB and Real Band. No Microsoft Office, Email, or the other nonsense. All windows sounds are shut off, no onboard sound card, only the Lexicon Omega for vocal/guitar input.

My recording computer is: ACPI x64, Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, Intel Core i7 CPU 6 GB RAM
I am using the BIAB 2013 hard drive.