Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
Randy29 Offline OP
OP Offline
I am new to digital music and music software. Is anyone currently using Band in the Box 2013 for Windows with a Casio Privia PX-130?

R
Expert
Expert
R
Rather than wait for a 'yes', what do you need help with?

Randy29 Offline OP
OP Offline
I do not want to purchase the software only to find out that it does not work with my Casio Privia PX-130. I have no reason to believe that it will not work.

R
Expert
Expert
R
A brief look at the Casio indicates it does not support GM midi commands. Although BIAB defaults to GM, patches are easily changed. In fact, there a number of patch maps available for Casio in the support area found HERE.

Randy29 Offline OP
OP Offline
Thank you Rachael but I must confess I didn't understand much of what you provided. I do no expect everyone to educate me on what for me is a new music experience. At any rate, I think you told me that it is ok to purchase BinaB 2013 because I can download software that will make my Casio PX-130 useful. Is this correct?

Journeyman
Journeyman
That Privia is not a complete "General MIDI" sound module, because it contains only a limited set of commonly-used keyboard sounds. It has no pretensions to the full set of 128 instruments that BiaB can use. It is, however a competent and unusually nice-feeling MIDI keyboard that can work with a program like BiaB. The chances are that you won't be relying on General MIDI sounds much anyway, since the BiaB Real Tracks replace them.

So, although the Privia may not be the perfect match with BiaB, it will do very well. If you ever need a more fully compatible MIDI sound module, you can add one later, after you figure out what all that means. Plunge on.

There's a fair amount to learn, but it will be fun to do.

Larry
______
Journeyman
Journeyman