Previous Thread
Index
Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
OP Offline
Now that I purchased BIAB/RealBand as tools to help with my band/orchestral music composition and trumpet solo backing tracks, I'm trying to figure out what my best soundcard/interface option is.

I have been doing digital recording of my bands for many years (since the mid-nineties) and have a decent amount of gear. Among that is a M-Audio Fast Track Ultra interface, as well as a Zoom R24. However, these are both digital audio interfaces, so I can't imagine that they'd be helping me on the MIDI side of things-bouncing between my notation software and RB.

Would it make more sense to purchase an inexpensive Sound Blaster to use as my dedicated MIDI card, since it has on board soundfont support, etc.? I have found myself using a SB type card in the past for rough playback, even with expensive multi-channel interfaces.

Again, I'm looking at this from the MIDI side of things, not digital audio. Thanks in advance for your help!

Veteran
Veteran
Hard to answer this until we know more about what types of midi devices and how many devices you are using. Are you using multiple keyboards, controllers, rack mounted synths, effects etc? Do you program Change Controls (cc's) into your tracks? Do you drive one midi device from another? If you do any of these, you might want to consider a midi interface, rather than or in addition to, an audio interface. Audio interfaces tend to have limited midi in/outs and thru's.

Traditionally, many have daisy-chained their midi units. In this type of setup you would be limited to 16 channels. If your units are multi-timbral, they could support up to 16 midi channels each. From my experience, driving multiple rack modules by controllers and DAW tracks works much better with midi interfaces.