Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
#335871 02/10/16 08:30 AM
RealBand
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
Since I'm a newbie to RB I have a lot of questions - I hope I'm not getting on your nerves with my almost daily postings. At least I promise that before bringing up issues here I will search back postings, read the manual and ask Google!

Here are my 2 questions about volume automation:

1. Am I right: You can copy the volume tracks of MIDI files, but can't copy the volume track of one audio track to another audio track?

2. I always have horn sections in my songs, which I convert to audio files after the MIDI tracks are OK. To make the section sound exactly like I want it to, I have to find a very exact place for each instrument volumewise and of course panwise (can I use that word?). Mostly changing the volume by a very small value makes the difference. After that I'd like to throw in some (de-)crescendi. If I edit the volume track of each instrument accordingly I cannot change the volume later on with the mixdown.

If I automate volume changes by recording the respective fader moves one by one I will lose 'my' sound, because in order to get a crescendo I'll have to pull the fader almost completely down to zero and then up again - that way it's almost impossible to bring it back to the exact value it had before.

Of course I could leave the horn tracks untouched after editing their volume tracks and change only the other instruments to make them fit in, but that is pretty limiting, too.

The solution would be recording the fader moves of the subgroup I combine all horns in. But I do understand that this is not possible, because subgroups have no tracks on their own.

I am sure that lots of folks work with horn (or string) sections - how do you get along with that problem - are there any workarounds...?

Thanks in advance for your help.

RealBand
Veteran
Veteran
Crossroads,