You need to be logged in to post
Options
Index
#449874 - 01/08/18 07:30 AM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] Laptop & Amp...Sound Problem
Loc: Spring Bay IL.
Geneoh Offline
Enthusiast

So Im running my HP Laptop into a Fender FM25DSP.
And yes Im new at this..anyway Im doig this to simply run Band In A Box
through the amp to blend with guitar.
Its a 2 ch amp with RCA inputs, so headphones out of LT to RCA inputs.
Problem is everything sounds wavy on the RCA ch...out of Laptop.
The laptop plays fine when not connected to the amp.
The sound is best described as wavy...high & low every 2-4 seconds?
Could this be a line out level issue? My laptop also has Beats Audio.
The only way to control the volume of my input ch is from the LT
Im just trying to learn to play with some backing tracks and its very annoying.
I just got the 2018 BIB & dont think it has anything to do with my issue.
I used BIB for a short while 10 years ago..
BTW Im running windows 10
Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!
Gene

#449897 - 01/08/18 10:22 AM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] Re: Laptop & Amp...Sound Problem [Re: Geneoh]
Loc: Ontario, Canada
BlueAttitude Offline
Expert

Loc: Ontario, Canada
Originally Posted By: Geneoh

Its a 2 ch amp with RCA inputs, so headphones out of LT to RCA inputs.

So, if I understand you correctly you are feeding the RCA input of the amp with a headphone output from the laptop?

That won't work very well because the RCA input of the amp is expecting a high impedance, low output signal (line level) and a headphone output will be just the opposite, low impedance, high output.

Do you have a line out on the laptop?

Blue Attitude: Homepage, Youtube page

#449898 - 01/08/18 10:53 AM [Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)] Re: Laptop & Amp...Sound Problem [Re: Geneoh]
Loc: Hudson Valley & Lake George NY
Matt Finley Online   content
Veteran

This is one of my personal goals, to ensure no one does it that way (grin).