Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#455126 02/01/18 08:55 AM
Beginners Forum
M
OP Offline
M
I'm considering purchasing BIAB to use on stage for live performance. Are there any other musicians out there that are doing just that? I've been doing a solo and duo for many years using midi and running my show from a laptop on stage. The laptop is ancient running Windows 95 and so is the Cakewalk 3.01 program that I use. It worked flawlessly for many years until the computer finally died recently. I can't find an old computer to take it's place because they've all been recycled and Cakewalk 3.01 won't work on newer computers. So it's time to upgrade since Cakewalk is now defunct!

I would like to get away from having to carry all my equipment to every gig because my setup is larger than most full bands. My questions are, does BIAB have good enough sounds to take the place of all my midi modules? Can I run straight out of the laptop to the PA and leave all my midi equipment at home? Are there catalogs of BIAB songs out on the web to access for songs that I don't have programmed already and does BIAB read midi files well? Thanks in advance for any help.

Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
Monkster, firstly welcome to the forums.

There are many users who do exactly what you want, using BiaB live on stage.

The RealTracks in BiaB are recordings of real instruments, performed by real musicians, and can give you excellent quality performances.

Some users also create their backing tracks and export as an Audio file (WAV, MP3 etc) and play those live instead of BiaB.

You can definitely send the laptop output to your PA, no question that this will work. You can also use a software synth inside BiaB for handling MIDI tracks. Forte DXi (available from PG Music) is a great way to go with very reasonable sounds and for only about $40.

Consider getting a small USB Audio adapter instead of relying on the 3.5mm stereo socket on the laptop - this is for reliability purposes.