Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
M
OP Offline
M
This is kind of a vague question but any sort of advice or pointers would be greatly appreciated. I'm a hobbyist recording musician and I really enjoy the detail work of mixing and post production on my music. I would love to some day be able to do this kind of work for not only myself but maybe other people but I'm nowhere near skilled enough to actually charge for it yet. Other than start offering to do it for free for practice which I want to start doing and continuing to practice with my own music, what else can I do to really start sharpening that skill? Right now I feel like I have a solid comprehension of how to use software like pro tools, cubase, Logic pro etc...but I still struggle making things sound professional. How do I get from where I am to where I would eventually like to be?

Veteran
Veteran
The way to get better is to mix. Everything and anything. To get good, don't just mix your favorite genre.... step out into unfamiliar turf.

Of course, if you rely on just the stuff you write and record, it might take a very long time.

However, there are sites online that have lots of songs in the form of stems. In other words, as individual tracks. You go there, find a project and download the tracks and mix it. Post it up on line for crits and feedback. Also.... of course, unless it includes PG tracks or other elements, it's kind of sketchy about posting it here. If you use a DAW, there's often a forum site for that DAW where you can post songs and projects for feedback. I used the Cakewalk Songs forum for that very purpose. There;s often a small cadre of highly skilled folks with good ears that can review your work and give you positive direction.

Use Google or your favorite search engine to get the names of the sites.

You can find my music at:
www.herbhartley.com
Add nothing that adds nothing to the music.