Band-in-a-Box for Windows
M
mbsmike Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
M
Hello everyone!

I'm looking for a little direction please.

I have done 2 original songs using BIAB for laying out the arrangement and playing instruments I don't play......also about 15 cover songs. Never really struggled much.

I have a new original that has me pulling my hair out hehe. I have to say I'm slightly familiar with basic theory but certainly not a master by any stretch of the imagination.

Here's what I've tried. I recorded an acoustic guitar track for the intro, 1st verse and chorus in Cubase. I did not use a click track because honestly I had no idea of the tempo. I took the file into RiffStation and Melodyne to get an idea of the tempo and time signature (again this is something I'm not good at without assistance). Both indicated tempo between 102 and 110. And a time signature of 3/4.

I then imported the audio in BIAB and used ACW to try and get the layout (excuse if I'm using improper terminology). My inexperience with ACW made that not turn out well at all, had tempos all over the place sounding nothing like the audio once in the chord chart.

Then I tried from scratch the way I did previous songs. After 3 hours still no joy. I just can't create the proper feel for the song. I'm sure this is user error or ignorance.

This a rather simple song in the style of Kris Kristofferson. I'm not sure if I'm mixing 3/4 and 4/4 time and that's causing me to struggle?

So......any suggestions on something I haven't tried yet or tips on how figure this out? Even if I have to rerecord using a click track......although Melodyne shows I'm not wildly changing tempo.

Any help would be appreciated before I have no hair left hahaha.

Thanks
Mike

Focusrite 2i2 2nd Gen
Windows 10 pro 1709 16299.125
Intel core i7 6700k CPU @ 4.00GHz 4.01 GHz
16 gig memory
BIAB UltraPak version is 2023 (Latest)
Cubase pro 9
Veteran
Veteran
Mike,