You need to be logged in to post
Options
Index
#536755 - 05/14/19 08:25 PM [RealBand] Mixing?
Loc: Arizona
John F Offline
Enthusiast

Loc: Arizona
Here's a lame question from a total noob. I have recorded a few tracks in RB and have them pretty much where I want them. However, I'm mystified about what to do next. I would guess it has something to do with the send/return channels and the FX channels on the right side of the mixer screen. How do I use these and what are they for? Do I use them to accomplish the final mixdown and mastering?

Windows 10, Behringer UMC204HD Audio Interface, BIAB/RB 2018

#536756 - 05/14/19 09:38 PM [RealBand] Re: Mixing? [Re: John F]
Loc: Gold Coast, Queensland, Austra...
Teunis Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Gold Coast, Queensland, Austra...
I don’t use RB for mixing or mastering. However, the process would be similar. Once you have the tracks how you want them and the song arranged to suit what you are looking for you would start the process of mixing which entails things such as EQ, maybe Compression, setting volumes and panning. Usually an effect that is only used on one track would be added as an effect to the track. e.g. EQ.

Reverb or Delays you might want to set the same settings onto a number of tracks. In that case you might setup a different track with the desired effect. Say for example a reverb. Once you have the “reverb track” create a send from the tracks you would like to put the reverb on to the reverb track. This way you have the advantage of reducing CPU load and also a consistent reverb to the various tracks. You can edit the level of sends or returns as required.

That’s how I’d use them

Tony

Edited by Teunis (05/14/19 09:41 PM)

#536835 - 05/15/19 03:42 PM [RealBand] Re: Mixing? [Re: John F]
Loc: Marysville, Mi. USA
rharv Offline
Veteran

First use the Render option to create a wav file.
Listen to it and see what you want to change.