Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
M
Apprentice
OP Offline
Apprentice
M
If you want the TL;DR version of this post: I'm a newbie to music production who is used to writing sheet music on Sibelius (orchestral, piano, jazz, latin, folk) & I'd like to get into producing and need help choosing a DAW and some sound libraries, up to max budget of £1,000 (~$1,300).

My current specs/equipment are at the end of this post but I guess I should say now I use Windows, so that rules out Logic Pro.

Otherwise:

Hi, this might be quite a long post so apologies, but I really need some help and I've found the users on this forum to be really knowledgeable (and kind with their time!) so, I thank you very much in advance.

Also I'm aware that a lot of the information I'm asking for is available out there & I don't want to come off as lazy by asking all this on here, but I have spent countless hours over the last few months trying to figure this all out for myself and I've really not made the progress I had hoped and I need to make some decisions about what to buy within the next 1-2 months.

Summary

In a nutshell, I'm a long-time composer (Sibelius), very comfortable with producing sheet music for live performance. I'd now like to start getting in to producing my own music i.e. creating music that is fit for putting on SoundCloud and the like.

The music I write varies a lot - jazz, latin, folk, rock/pop, classical, all sorts.

I have a little bit of experience with recording (Cool Edit Pro... don't laugh!) and I've been using Band in a Box for a little over a year and I'm pretty comfortable with it.

Other than that, I have very little experience with any other music-making/producing software.

Choosing a DAW