Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Songwriting
J
OP Offline
J
Hello everyone,

I am new to BIAB. I want to add an additional track to a song I am writing. How do I do that?

Thank you

Songwriting
Veteran
Veteran
IMHO the best way to add tracks to BiaB is to drag and drop BiaB tracks into a DAW. If you have the PC version of BiaB you have a DAW in RealBand. If you don't have another favorite DAW then use that. On the MAC I you have Garage Band.

I hope this helps and good luck.

Me, it's not about how many times you fail, it's about how many times you get back up.
Cop, that's not how field sobriety tests work.

64 bit Win 10 Pro, the latest BiaB/RB, Roland Octa-Capture audio interface, a ton of software/hardware
Songwriting
Veteran
Veteran
Hello JamesNikolas,

Welcome to the forum and to Band-in-a-Box.

The eight default Band-in-a-Box tracks are named Bass, Piano, Drums, Guitar, Strings, Melody, Soloist and Audio. Generally speaking Band-in-a-Box styles uses the Bass, Piano, Drums, Guitar and Strings tracks for style arrangements leaving the Melody, Soloist and Audio tracks for your use.

Both the Melody and Soloist tracks are capable of handling 16 midi tracks with the restriction that the sound is generated by the default midi synth module. Of course both tracks can also be used for audio.

You also have the Audio track. One "trick" that works well is to use the audio track to record the audio output from other tracks. That frees up those tracks for use again.

Using the F5 bar settings you can direct the Band-in-a-Box program to use up to ten instruments on each of the five tracks it traditionally uses to create arrangements. By recording arrangements to audio and then using the tracks again you can create very dense arrangements.

Jim Fogle - 2024 BiaB (1111) RB (5) Ultra+ PAK
DAWs: Cakewalk by BandLab (CbB) - Standalone: Zoom MRS-8
Laptop: i3 Win 10, 8GB ram 500GB HDD
Desktop: i7 Win 11, 12GB ram 256GB SSD, 4 TB HDD