Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
Hi y'all.

I don't play much in church so I have little experience. A couple of weddings with requested songs is the bulk of it.

A relative of mine who is Jewish has been getting work playing in Christian churches for a few years and a couple of the pastors have asked him if he could get a small group together.

He's thinking about buying fake books and getting a few musicians together for gigging once the COVID thing is over.

He asked me which of these two books should he get. One has more songs but being unfamiliar with the titles he doesn't know which one is better. Neither do I.

So I ask your help.

The Praise And Worship Fake Book

or

The Real Worship Book

If you have any reasons why you prefer one or the other, please include them. I'll pass the comments on to him.

Thank you very much.
Bob

Bob "Notes" Norton smile Norton Music
https://www.nortonmusic.com

100% MIDI Super-Styles recorded by live, pro, studio musicians for a live groove
& Fake Disks for MIDI and/or RealTracks
Off-Topic
R
Veteran
Veteran
R
Bob, I'm sorry to say, but this question is as general as 'what songs should we play in a bar?'

There are SO MANY STYLES, that you really can't be prepared ahead of time unless you visit the churches you are trying to get gigs at.

You have everything from full on funky gospel (a Facebook friend, Spiffy Newman on Keys : https://www.youtube.com/user/mtspiffy/videos)

to traditional southern gospel ( https://www.singingnews.com/top-80-southern-gospel-music-charts/ )

To traditional hymms

To modern rock P&W (Bethel Music: https://www.youtube.com/user/ibethelmusic/videos , Hillsongs United: https://www.youtube.com/user/hillsongunitedTV/videos Elevation Church: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xrAdbH28gIg )

To R&B gospel ( Tye Tribbett: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U0TaADfUxPw )