#613754 09/04/20 08:21 PM
Beginners Forum
B
Apprentice
OP Offline
Apprentice
B
Hello everybody,
can someone tell me what a push is ? is there another name for it ? can you show me an 80's pop song where it is used ?
in 30 years as an amateur musician, I have never seen or heard this word outside of BIAB
thanks in advance,
Bernard Raasson

Bernard Rasson

BIAB Audiophile 2021, BIAB Megapak 2015 (for midi-only projects), Cakewalk, Roland XV-5080, Roland Fantom XR, Aria AC60 Nylon Strings Guitar, Almansa Spanish Guitar, Fender Stratocaster Japan, two laptops
Je parle français
Bernard Rasson #613760 09/04/20 10:13 PM
Beginners Forum
Veteran
Veteran
Hi Bernard.
In BiaB, a Push plays the chord either an 1/8 or a 1/6th note earlier than the beat.

From the Help:
Add Pushes to Chords
Pushes in Styles
Styles can push any instrument so that the instrument plays before the chord begins. This is very common in Jazz and other Pop music, and gives the music a more natural sound.

"Pushes" (sometimes called anticipations) are chords that are played before the beat. For example, in Jazz Swing the piano player often pushes a chord change by playing the chord an eighth note before the beat.

To use keystrokes:
Type the caret symbol ‘^’ before the chord. (The caret symbol is located above the 6 on the keyboard.)
Type a single caret to get a chord an eighth note before the beat.
e.g. ^C7
Type a double caret to get a chord a sixteenth note before the beat.
e.g. ^^C7

Hope this assists.

BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
AudioTrack #613764 09/05/20 12:52 AM
Beginners Forum
B
Apprentice
OP Offline
Apprentice
B
Thank you VideoTrack

Yes, I have heard the word "anticipation" before
but infrequently