Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#623114 11/13/20 09:57 PM
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
The old machine is acting up again so I am fed up with it.

There are some of the general ideas I had for new hardware.

See anything that could be better?

New location, new environment, new music coming soon

Seize the moo-ment
If you feel like you’ve herd all these cow puns before, you probably have deja-moo
Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
My computer build list for the last 15 years has been to wait until my son builds himself a new one and gives me his old one.

I didn't realize what a good long term investment it was to teach him how to build computers starting when he was 7 or 8.

Since he's still a gamer, everything he builds is really high end.

Last edited by bobcflatpicker; 11/14/20 12:36 AM.
Off-Topic
J
Veteran
Veteran
J
billy.
i'm a tech. i wont comment on specific parts in that build as the parts landscape changes rapidly.
a grreat thread to read (VERY LONG) is at gearslutz.com,
music computers section forum >"today we build our studio pc" thread pinned at the forum top.
go to the most recent posts 2019/2020.

would like to know your needs.
1. will you be useing a gonzo load of resource hogging plug ins and/or sample libraries ??
2. in any song what are the max no of traks you anticipate recording/playing back at what sample rate ??
will you be recording multiple inputs at a time ??
eg 8 mics to 8 discreet traks sorta idea. ?
3. do you have a decent audio interface ?? for mic's etc etc.

one thing i DO notice.
if were me get TWO SSD's , one for win and one to record to.
i would also invest in a startech or equivalent box (looks like a toaster.) 40 buks.
and put a couple of ssd's in it for fast back up.
i have one .
great for backing up win plus songs etc. FLEXIBILITY.

frankly i could knock a lot of money off that build by buying
a refurb pc. i LOVE refurbs.
for 1700 buks i could buy 2 nice refurb pc beasts.
advantages are.