Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Help! Tech S.O.S (Off topic)
C
cesmith Offline OP
OP Offline
C
Hello,

I am looking to obtain a good set of speakers to use for play-along with BIAB. I have a Dell XPS laptop and the built in speakers are not sufficient for what I want to do.

I am a jazz double bassist and would like to play along with speakers blue-toothed to my computer. I am looking to mostly practice playing melodies and soloing along with backing tracks of chord changes.

Given the instrument I play standing up, plugging in or microphoning through headphones may be a bit more difficult, but I'm open to suggestions. What is a good audio configuration with BIAB for a stand-up double bassist?

Thank you!

Veteran
Veteran
Cesmith,

Older laptops were notorious for having very poor soundcards and the recommendation was to upgrade your soundcard for improved system sound. This has been greatly improved in recent years.

I have Barry MS-40s that I highly recommend. They are near-field monitors so take a bit of getting used to. They are fully capable of peeling paint or wallpaper so they should handle your bass adequately.

https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000IKSIOM/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o09_s01?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Veteran
Veteran
Welcome to the forum.

We need to know your budget.

Any size restrictions?

You probably know, there are powered and unpowered speakers. We generally call the powered ones monitors.

I highly recommend getting a modest audio interface such as a Focusrite 2i2 that connects to your laptop via USB. It bypasses the laptop audio (although Don is right, they are getting better) and it bypasses those horrid little headphone mini-jacks on laptops.

Since you play bass, can we assume the low end response is not as important for you?

What genre do you favor? The answer for classical might be different than for heavy metal or disco.

And, what's your budget!