Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#669444 08/21/21 04:46 PM
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
Hey guys,

I have been using Melodyne for several years but never really tried Auto-Tune. I got a monthly package which is pretty pricy, about $25 dollars. There are 16 different plug-ins.

I have just begun to experiment with it. It is much different than I really expected.

I sang a simple four-bar set of vocal notes which I checked with Melodyne. The first two were flat so I fixed that in Melodyne.

The sounds that Auto-Tune had to deal with were on pitch.

The amount of control that exists is amazing. I am not talking about producing strange sounds but enhancing a vocal.

Are there others here that use Auto-Tune?

Billy

New location, new environment, new music coming soon

Seize the moo-ment
If you feel like you’ve herd all these cow puns before, you probably have deja-moo
Off-Topic
L
Expert
Expert
L
Yes, it's a treat to work with. A bit soul destroying though when you can see you're out of tune but can't hear it! This video is reassuring however! smile https://www.pgmusic.com/forums/ubbthreads.php?ubb=showflat&Number=669110#Post669110

Last edited by lambada; 08/21/21 09:56 PM.

Windows 10 Home 20H2 Build 19042.487
BIAB 2021 (Build 818)
Intel(R) Core(TM), i3-4160, CPU @3.60 GHz RAM 16 GB, 64 Bit X64-based processor
Zoom UAC-2 (USB 3 interface-built in midi)
VoiceLive 3 Extreme, Sputnik Valve Condenser Mic
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
I am finding there is a lot more to Auto-Tune than pitch correction. Pitch correction across a complete track sounds pretty un-useable to me.

When I first used Melodyne I saw the same issue. I then learned to only correct notes that sounded bad enough to correct.

I am finding it necessary to play the vocal melody on the piano and learn that. Then I can go back and start to bend the notes around. Having my lead guitar player play the vocal line in rehearsal helps also.