Print Thread
Go To
Page 7 of 7 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
HearToLearn #676255 10/04/21 02:46 AM
Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
So sorry to hear that, Eddie.

My father didn't think music was a good career either, encouraging me to 'get a trade' or 'work for the Post Office, those guys have it made'.

He was a printer by trade.

But he accepted my choice as my choice, and came to be comfortable with it when he saw me making a living at it.

He and my mom would come out to our gigs when Mrs. Notes and I decided to target the retirement audience.

Bob

Bob "Notes" Norton smile Norton Music
https://www.nortonmusic.com

100% MIDI Super-Styles recorded by live, pro, studio musicians for a live groove
& Fake Disks for MIDI and/or RealTracks
HearToLearn #676356 10/04/21 02:54 PM
Off-Topic
Veteran
OP Offline
Veteran
Quote:
He died during his 73rd year, when I was 39, after telling me on his deathbed that I was an embarrassment to him, that he was disappointed in what I had become, and that he was ashamed to admit that I was his son.

I've been trying to think of what to say to this since you've posted it. I'm in Wisconsin. It gets cold enough here that people go fishing on the ice. I'm sure you already knew that. But, do you recognize and ice hole when you see one? I do. The truth in what he said wasn't about you. It was about himself.

Quote:
That was the last thing he said to me. I have been carrying that around for 31 years now, and I think about that every day. It will never go away. That man that I revered, that man who shaped me and who by example instilled into me my strong work ethic, died disappointed in me.