Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#716931 05/14/22 09:28 AM
User Showcase
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
I wrote this one mostly just for fun. My Uncle is getting older now and told me that he wants me to speak at his funeral when the time comes. That's something I've never done before. I teased him that when the time does come, we're not going to just have a funeral, but we'll have something they're now calling a "celebration of life", with balloons and music, and that I intended to put the "fun" back in the word "funeral." He just laughed and said to do whatever I wanted. He didn't care because he'd already be dancin' on streets of gold ... and then the ideas started to come.

Kickin' Up Gold Dust

Don’t you worry about me when it comes my time to leave
‘cause you know that I’ll be kickin’ up gold dust.
Yeah, I’ll be dancin’ in the streets with the angels around me
and you know that we’ll all be kickin’ up gold dust.
Yeah, we’ll all gather up around the throne
in a place where the streets are paved with gold.
So, when I die, don’t you cry. Don’t you make a fuss
‘cause you know that I’m just kickin’ up gold dust.

Oh, I’ll be sailing crystal seas with walls of jasper around me
singing praises to the King and kickin’ up gold dust.
The pearly gates will open wide to my new home in the sky,
so, you know that’s where you’ll find me kickin’ up gold dust.
‘Cause the angels and the saints and I will be
praisin’ his name for eternity.
They can put me in the ground, but I’m still heaven bound
so, you know you can trust I’m just kickin’ up gold dust.

No, the world will never be my home.
‘Cause life is just a journey to a place I know
where treasure will never fade or rust,
so, shout hallelujah because I’m kickin’ up gold dust.

No, the world will never be my home.
‘Cause life is just a journey to a place I know
where treasure will never fade or rust,
so, shout hallelujah because I’m kickin’ up gold dust.
I said, shout hallelujah because I’m kickin’ up gold dust.