Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Band-in-a-Box Wishlist
robbo Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
I make my living from music, and have for 50+ years.

speed and accuracy are paramount.

BB slows my workflow down to a crawl.

too many dialog boxes and options. too many non musical decisions.

what I, and probably a lot of other pros want as well, is a simplification.

I mainly just use BB to make mock-ups BGs quickly and non critically.

in the end, i'd like to see a stripped down edition with no bells and whistles....

mac friendly.no dialog boxes like there are now.

just "input the data" and port to the DAW.

the musicianship is wonderful, but the interface is 20 years old.

please, a stripped back PRO version.

thanks and regards,
robbo.

Band-in-a-Box Wishlist
Veteran
Veteran
Robbo, reasonable points.

What version of BiaB are you running?

BIAB & RB2024 Win.(Audiophile), Sonar Platinum, Cakewalk by Bandlab, Izotope Prod.Bundle, Roland RD-1000, Synthogy Ivory, Kontakt, Focusrite 18i20, KetronSD2, NS40M Monitors, Pioneer Active Monitors, AKG K271 Studio H'phones
Band-in-a-Box Wishlist
L
Veteran
Veteran
L
robbo:

I use the Windows version so I'm not sure my comments will apply.
If you use "Ctrl+T" it hides many of the toolbars, if that's helpful.
Plus, there's even a way to customize what's left, to show only the icons you need.

Otherwise, I don't see how you could simplify it much more.
No matter how you use the program, you're going to have to:
- pick a style
- pick a key
- pick a tempo
- set the song length
- type in the chords

I only use BIAB on occasion, so I don't consider myself a "pro" at it.
But once you learn where the buttons are for those functions, it's
certainly not hard to type in the chords of a song.
I'm guessing there are plenty of users here that, even though they're fairly new,
could easily enter a song in under 30 minutes, and some in under 10.

What part of your process in BIAB is slowing you down?
Finding the right style?