Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
#731080 09/10/22 03:36 AM
Beginners Forum
R
OP Offline
R
I'm fairly new to BIAB (Mac) and not sure if this is the proper forum but I have a question about choosing styles. For instance, I have the Ultra Pak and when I search for a song in the style picker ("Silver Wings", Haggard), it shows the song in the top right window but the matching style it gives me is nothing like the song at all and is in fact some blues style. I tried scrolling through the options under the Country genre but the choices are overwhelming. Is there a better way to do this?

Beginners Forum
Journeyman
Journeyman
Welcome to the forum! PG Music does have a video tutorial about using the style picker under their support videos (https://www.pgmusic.com/videos.bbwin.htm). Unfortunately, it is several years old and was made with the Windows version of BIAB, but it should give you some ideas about using the style picker. The style suggested for a given song is often not terribly similar to a recorded version of a song, and it often does come down to sampling through styles until you find something you're happy with.

Macbook Pro 2018
2.6 GHz 6-core Intel Core i7, 16 GB RAM
OS Monterey
BIAB for Mac 2022
Beginners Forum
C
Veteran
Online Content
Veteran
C
The most efficient and effective method I know of to find an accurate and suitable style for any song when using the StylePicker is to first open or import a MIDI file of the song.

Forum member Henry Clarke has released several excellent, easy to understand video tutorials demonstrating his techniques to use MIDI to automatically capture the "in the style of a song, the groove of the bass/drums, analyze the chords, and capture the melody if the file includes it. Stated earlier, BIAB has video tutorials. A third party company, Groove 3 has tutorials and Forum member Notes Norton has a Web site that specializes in professional grade MIDI Styles for BIAB that can be added into the StylePicker.