You need to be logged in to post
Options
Index
#677654 - 10/13/21 09:41 AM [RealBand] How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand?
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
Hi!

In BiaB you can enable multiple instances of the program to run parallel. Isn't that possible in RealBand, too? I couldn't find anything in the preferences.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677664 - 10/13/21 10:48 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 05/19/20
Posts: 1418
Loc: Victoria, BC
Simon - PG Music Offline
PG Music Staff

Registered: 05/19/20
Posts: 1418
Loc: Victoria, BC
No, that's not possible.
_________________________
I work here

Top
#677669 - 10/13/21 10:57 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
Thanks fo letting me know, Simon!
Would be a huge time-saver for me, so I'll post it in the Wishlist forum.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677714 - 10/13/21 04:13 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
rharv Offline
Veteran

Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
What are you trying to do?
You can Import one song into another in RB, so if you just need to run two versions of the same song, that route might be a workaround.

I've done that before; import one SEQ file into another (then use Save As to keep the originals)
_________________________
Make your sound your own!
.. I do not work here

Top
#677741 - 10/14/21 03:37 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
rharv,

yeah, I copy parts of midis into other midis ... many of them, and at repeating occasions ...

Therefore: thanks for this idea! This will - in comparison to a simple copy&paste - probably come with some limitations (which parts of which tracks to insert where exactly, and such), but it might be a considerable workaround for now. I'll definately try that out!
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677815 - 10/14/21 02:35 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
rharv Offline
Veteran

Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
Once you have everything inside of RB you can still slice/dice whatever tracks you want and put them wherever you want. Not really any limitations, just an extra step ..
_________________________
Make your sound your own!
.. I do not work here

Top
#677856 - 10/14/21 10:24 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
rharv,

I've thought that this might be an even better procedure than working with two instances - but so far, I struggle with that.
The reason will most probably be that I'm not familiar enough with RealBand yet.

What I currently try to do, step by step:
1. I open Midi A in RealBand (it has 3 tracks)
2. I import Midi B (it also has 3 tracks, so now there are 6 tracks)
3. I switch to tile view
4. I highlight and then copy the needed tiles of the 3 imported tracks
5. I mark a target-place in the tracks of the original Midi A
6. I press CTRL+V to paste the copied tiles.

Well, the result is that BiaB pastes the tiles into the imported tracks instead of pasting them into the upper 3 original tracks.

Looks like I have to gain more real basic knowledge first about the Copy&Paste procedures in RealBand.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677865 - 10/15/21 01:14 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/21/01
Posts: 1464
Loc: UK
Bob Calver Offline
Expert

Registered: 09/21/01
Posts: 1464
Loc: UK
if the tracks use the same instruments can you just merge the tracks? i think the command is under the edit menu

Top
#677867 - 10/15/21 02:19 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
Hey Bob, wouldn't that overlap the notes of both tracks? I want the contents of both tracks in the resulting (merged) track one after the other with a 1-bar gap between both of them.

I think to achieve that I'd have to first shift the content of the second track by Cut&Paste within that second track, and then to merge both tracks. So finally that all would probably be even more uncomfortable than the save-open-copy-close-open-paste process that I use currently. - However, I'll try it out.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677876 - 10/15/21 04:53 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
rharv Offline
Veteran

Registered: 05/30/00
Posts: 20772
Loc: Mi., USA
I think the problem is trying to do all three tracks at once.
When you use CTRL+V with multiple tracks the Paste window says 'Paste (to original tracks)' in the title.

If you do one track at a time it should allow you to select the destination track.
_________________________
Make your sound your own!
.. I do not work here

Top
#677879 - 10/15/21 05:30 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: rharv]
Registered: 01/07/20
Posts: 1094
justanoldmuso Online   content
Expert

Registered: 01/07/20
Posts: 1094
MTGroove.
i'm haveing trouble understanding why you need to work in this fashion, aggregating midi.
so could you go back to the beginning why ?
what is your situation.

normally when i do a song from scratch, my workflow is..
in brief...
1. create chotd sheet.
2. go through zillions of styles
noting down which rt's//rd's//midis work best.
ie instrument id's.
3. in rb right cliking over blank traks and generating
audio and midis useing the instrument id's i noted down and running sound picture tests ...sorta idea.
useing plug in vsti on midi traks etc etc.

thus i never get into midi aggregation.

so please explain why the aggregation, cos might be alternatives.

best
om


Edited by justanoldmuso (10/15/21 05:50 AM)
_________________________
FELLOW USERS PLEASE SUPPORT MY BIAB/RB WISHLIST ITEMS
FEEL FREE TO CRITIQUE MY SONGS IN THE USER SHOWCASE FORUM.

Top
#677888 - 10/15/21 06:29 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
rharv,

then it would also be even more uncomfortable than my initial process.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677890 - 10/15/21 06:53 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
oldmuso,

I have thousands of midi files, each with one riff/lick only. When I practice one of these riffs and then want to go to the next, I have to close the current file, reopen the next file and then play that next riff.
But it turned out, that I don't like to do that all the time, so I very often stop practicing after a few minutes. Also, I want to loop two consecutive riffs, either for comparising reasons or for "drill" reasons.

Some examples:
The same montuno in 3-2 clave (= Riff from Midi A) and in 2-3 clave (= Riff from Midi B) and again in 3-2 clave and so on; I only can loop both seemlessly if they are in the same midi.
Or: I want to practice the same blues bassline in all 12 keys (all obtained in seperate midis)

So I merge those files, sometimes by key, other times by other criteria, whatever I find useful for specific riffs. This makes a huge difference for how quick I progress in a practicing session.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677905 - 10/15/21 10:31 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 01/07/20
Posts: 1094
justanoldmuso Online   content
Expert

Registered: 01/07/20
Posts: 1094
MTGroove.
much as i love realband, i feel , from what youve described, and obviously i dont know all you want to do;
and given the midi file volume you have;
i would suggest you look at reaper that i also use.
(www.reaper.fm) because i find i can work very rapidly that way with reaps.
ie lots of midi clips/files...i feel you could save time.
just download the reaps demo. and run tests importing midi along timeline and lots of different traks etc.
its very easy to grab midi clips with the mouse n rapidly move around etc. i also feel reaps would handle such a big volume...run tests n see if it meets your needs.

best
om
_________________________
FELLOW USERS PLEASE SUPPORT MY BIAB/RB WISHLIST ITEMS
FEEL FREE TO CRITIQUE MY SONGS IN THE USER SHOWCASE FORUM.

Top
#677927 - 10/15/21 02:35 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
MoveToGroove Offline
Apprentice

Registered: 09/13/21
Posts: 179
Loc: Germany
muso,

yeah, that sounds reasonable. I've already though about that, so I'll follow your suggestion.
_________________________
BiaB Pro 2020; Windows 10
Bass: Intermediate; Piano: Beginner
I came to this forum in order to suggest feature improvements for non-professional musicians like myself that use BiaB mainly as a playalong tool and as a learning tool

Top
#677929 - 10/15/21 02:41 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: Simon - PG Music]
Registered: 06/21/21
Posts: 479
Mark Hayes Offline
Journeyman

Registered: 06/21/21
Posts: 479
Originally Posted By: Simon - PG Music
No, that's not possible.


Is running multiple instances of BIAB officially supported, or just not prevented? I've known applications over the years where the advice was, yeah, you can do it, but you really shouldn't since it wasn't designed that way.

Disclaimer: I use the Mac version, which doesn't allow it.

Top
#677932 - 10/15/21 02:51 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: Mark Hayes]
Registered: 05/19/20
Posts: 1418
Loc: Victoria, BC
Simon - PG Music Offline
PG Music Staff

Registered: 05/19/20
Posts: 1418
Loc: Victoria, BC
Originally Posted By: Mark Hayes
Is running multiple instances of BIAB officially supported, or just not prevented? I've known applications over the years where the advice was, yeah, you can do it, but you really shouldn't since it wasn't designed that way.

Disclaimer: I use the Mac version, which doesn't allow it.

The Windows version of BIAB officially supports multiple instances - there's a preference setting to enable that even.

The 2021 Mac version does in a way - there's a preference setting for it there, but due to how macOS apps work you actually need to duplicate the Band-in-a-Box app to be able to run two instances at a time. Before the 2021 version it is not supported.
_________________________
I work here

Top
#677941 - 10/15/21 03:44 PM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: Simon - PG Music]
Registered: 06/21/21
Posts: 479
Mark Hayes Offline
Journeyman

Registered: 06/21/21
Posts: 479
Originally Posted By: Simon - PG Music
due to how macOS apps work you actually need to duplicate the Band-in-a-Box app to be able to run two instances at a time.


So you're officially supporting a crude hack to allow Mac users to do something MacOS normally disallows, to be more like Windows.

Eek, a mouse.

Whatever is accomplished in this way should be doable with multiple windows under the same application. You don't need two copies of Safari to browse two websites at once. Does APPLE even support this?

Top
#677997 - 10/16/21 02:50 AM [RealBand] Re: How to enable Multiple Instances of RealBand? [Re: MoveToGroove]
Registered: 02/05/15
Posts: 7294
Pipeline Offline
Veteran

Registered: 02/05/15
Posts: 7294
_________________________
ReaTrak Biab & Plugin in Reaper
Free Biab Chord Picker Tool

Top


PG Music News
RealBand 2022 is Here!

There are over 30 new features to RealBand 2022, including the ability to install multiple VST plugins from a folder at a time, improved Audio Chord Wizard detection routines, the ability to record mixer movement for the masters/subgroups, new Transpose/Stretch All Tracks dialog lets you transpose/stretch/reduce all tracks and then conveniently save to a new file, the new settings to save selected tracks only and exclude muted tracks when saving all tracks to individual files, the option to save all tracks to a compressed format, and much more.

RealBand is included in ALL Band-in-a-Box® for Windows purchases – during our special (which ends December 31st) to save up to 50% when you purchase your Band-in-a-Box® 2022 for Windows Upgrade!

Check out our Band-in-a-Box® packages page for all the purchase options available.

If you need any help deciding which package is the best option for you, just let us know. We are here to help!

Learn more about all the new features in RealBand 2022 for Windows.

Band-in-a-Box® 2022 for Windows is Here!

Band-in-a-Box® 2022 for Windows is here! There are 50+ new features, 222 new RealTracks(20 more than we've released in previous versions), new RealStyles, MIDI SuperTracks, Instrumental Studies, Artist Performances, Xtra Styles PAK 12, New "playable RealTracks" Hi-Q sounds, 2 sets of "RealDrums Stems," and more!

We're having a SALE on Band-in-a-Box® 2022 Upgrade purchases until December 31, 2021 - save up to 50% when you purchase your Band-in-a-Box® 2022 for Windows Upgrade!

We've packed our Free Bonus PAK & 49-PAK with some amazing Add-ons! The Free Bonus PAK is automatically included with most Band-in-a-Box® for Windows 2022 packages during our special, but for more even more Add-ons (including 60 Unreleased RealTracks) upgrade it to the 2022 49-PAK for only $49. You can see the full lists of items in each package, and listen to demos here.

Check out our Band-in-a-Box® packages page for all the purchase options available.

If you need any help deciding which package is the best option for you, just let us know. We are here to help!

Learn more about all the new features in Band-in-a-Box® 2022 for Windows.

Celebrate National Jukebox Day with Band-in-a-Box®!

Happy National Jukebox Day!
(November 24)

Don't own a Jukebox? Well, if you have Band-in-a-Box®, you actually do with the Jukebox feature!

What does the Band-in-a-Box® Jukebox do?

Using the directory you choose, the Band-in-a-Box® Jukebox will provide you with background music by continuously play the entire list of Band-in-a-Box® songs within that folder! There are many options for you to customize your Jukebox experience, including: Only Play song with melodies, Change Melody Instrument, Random order Playback, Audible Count-in, Harmony Settings, and more! Plus, the Jukebox will continue to play while you use other programs, providing your favorite music for continued background listening.

To learn more about the Jukebox feature in Band-in-a-Box® for Windows, check out Chapter 5 of our online manual.
Mac Jukebox details found here.

Tell Us Your Favorite Band-in-a-Box Features

Did you know we have a My Favorite Things forum? We'd love it if you shared your favorite features in Band-in-a-Box and RealBand there, along with what features you use the most and why - we absolutely LOVE getting feedback!

Take a peak at other posts while you're there - you never know... someone else's favorite feature might become yours too!

RealTracks Artist Pat Martino

We are saddened to hear of the passing of jazz guitar legend Pat Martino yesterday.

Pat was part of our RealTracks Artist "Jazz Pollwinners 2" series in 2014. You can learn about Pat and listen to his RealTracks contribution here.

Pat had been playing guitar since he was just 12 years old, and devoted himself to music in grade ten. On top of years of performing (he began playing professionally in 1961), Pat received many awards for his playing, including the "Jazz Legacy" Award in 2016 presented by Pennsylvania State Senator Vincent Hughes and his wife Sheryl Lee Ralph-Hughes.

Learn even more about Pat Martino when you visit his website, http://www.patmartino.com/.

A Look Back... Band-in-a-Box® 2015 NAMM Demonstration #TBT

Watch Tobin (and Charlie!) demonstrate Band-in-a-Box® 2015 for Windows at the 2015 NAMM Show: Play video...

Tobin does a great job of showing just how easy it is to create a song with Band-in-a-Box!

This video was posted on January 23, 2015 to the Keyboard Instrument Chops and Gear YouTube Channel.

Ordering Your Band-in-a-Box® is Easy!

When you order any PG Music products directly from www.pgmusic.com (or www.bandinabox.com) you'll receive immediate links to start downloading your order! Even if you choose to have a backup copy of your Band-in-a-Box® packages shipped, you'll still have the download links available to you - no need to wait!

We've made it even easier to get started with Band-in-a-Box® with the Easy Payment Plan 4 - when you choose this payment option you'll pay four equal monthly payments starting on the day of your order.

Choose your Band-in-a-Box® for Windows package & order here.

Using Mac? Order here.

When you get to the checkout, simply click on Select Easy Payment Plan 4 for this product to apply this option.

Note: This only applies to this Band-in-a-Box product, and does not apply to other products that you might have in your order, including the physical backup copy if selected.

Forum Stats
35193 Members
63 Forums
71611 Topics
623906 Posts

Max Online: 2537 @ 01/19/20 07:09 AM
Newest Members
pbwang1947, Genuvenue, Dominique29, CarwynElmer, CBO

35192 Registered Users
Top Posters (30 Days)
jpettit 409
Matt Finley 234
Pipeline 208
MusicStudent 196
VideoTrack 196
PeterGannon 188
Rob Helms 188
Rustyspoon# 154
rayc 150
musiclover 137
Today's Birthdays
basilhenriques, cubase4, Skyline