Originally Posted By: R & AM
Hi Floyd and Janice,
we are struck by the clarity and dynamics in both the vocals and the arrangements.
We're very interested in hearing more about your set up i.e. what brand and type of microphone, DAW and the export sample rate etc. (kHz, bitrate).

Rob and Anne-Marie

Rob and Ann-Marie - hi guys! back again... so, here are some details. If I'm not hitting on the right things, let me know...

I have been using Presonus Studio One Professional for about nine months now. I REALLY like it. The plugins that come with it are top-notch and for the most part very intuitive. I had used Sony Acid Pro prior to that (a good DAW), but it turns out that one of my neighbors is a "big-wig" at Presonus...

To tell you the truth, I have never really thought about sample rate. I am using 44.1 kHz - because that is the default in S1 (I had to go look). I now use 24bits because the Focusrite Scarlett 8i6 that I use would not work at 16 - which is what I used to use on my old XP machine (Gina 20 interface). So, as you might guess, it's not something that I give a lot of thought to... when I create an mp3 to upload to my site, that is done at 256 Kbps.

When I export tracks out of BIAB, I always set the pan to 0 and the volume to max (127). I most often leave the reverb that is set when an instrument is loaded (although, lately I have turned it off on acoustic guitars and piano tracks to add my own later).