PG Music Home
Posted By: colly roland sound canvas va - 08/24/16 08:13 AM
Hi Guys
I am pretty new to biab but I was wondering if any one had done any songs using the sound canvas va...just so I could hear the bass drums etc.

As I am about to purchase it and would like to hear something done with it rather than the you tube vids.

thanks
Posted By: Matt Finley Re: roland sound canvas va - 08/24/16 10:15 AM
Welcome. See my reply in Recording.
Posted By: Mat - PG Music Re: roland sound canvas va - 10/04/16 05:49 PM
Hi colly,

Most Roland Sound Canvas soft synths and hardware use the same sample sets, typically. The Microsoft General MIDI soft synth that comes with Windows even sounds similar to it (it just doesn't sound as good).

If you're interested in hearing what a particular synth sounds like, one of the recommended tools is either YouTube, or there's a fantastic website that I utilized when I went on a ROMpler hunt last year that I would suggest. It's called SynthMania. Though I don't believe it carries The Roland Sound Canvas VA particularly.

The person who runs it also runs a great YouTube channel. It was one of the best sites I've come across when wanting to demonstrate a classic synth. smile
Posted By: Jim Fogle Re: roland sound canvas va - 10/07/16 06:49 PM
Wikipedia offers a good overview of all of Roland's general purpose sound modules. ++ HERE ++ is a link to the Wikipedia article.

PG Music has a ++ DARE-TO-COMPARE ++ webpage with audio file comparisons between some hardware and software sound modules including Coyote Wavetable (included with BiaB), Roland VSC (Roland's first generation virtual sound module emulation), Roland TTS-1 (Roland's second generation virtual sound module emulation), two hardware based Roland sound modules and a Ketron hardware sound module.
Posted By: colly Re: roland sound canvas va - 10/07/16 09:16 PM
Hi Jim

I did come across this when I was on my before I bought.... biab real tracks, and I was impressed.