PG Music Home
I am a guitarist, been playing for 45 years give or take. While I'm not gigging anymore, I do like to play along to my favorite old tunes and use backing tracks.

Initially, I just want to create some basic blues tracks at various tempos and different degrees of complexity. I have over 29GB to install off 7 DVDs. I can't imagine using all that at the start.

Any suggestions on what basics I should install for now? Later, I'd like to export the material, pull it into something like Reason, add more guitar and vocals, and have fun. This looks pretty complex so I want to start small.

Thanks for your help.

John
Hi John,

Welcome to the forums.

"Starting small" is a great way to learn BIAB and how to drive it effectively.

As for the installation, most of those 29GB will be Realtracks -- these are audio instrumental tracks that BIAB uses to create backings.

My advice is that if you have the space on your computer to install all of them, do so. The Megapack does not contain the full complement of all available Realtracks thus to get the best from this package, it will be best to have everything at your fingertips.

Regards,
Noel

Greetings and welcome to the forum Boss 281,

The Band-in-a-Box (BiaB and RealBand programs are the same for all packages. The difference between the packages is the optional content. The MegaPAK you purchased has a lot of content but is still way less than half of all the content available.

Program windows such as the StylePicker, SongPicker, RealDrums and RealTracks picker list ALL content so many new users become frustrated as they try to select content with the N/A (not available) tag in the listing. Concentrate on learning the program by using the content you have and don't fret about what you don't have.

PG Music has some free video tutorials you may find useful. I'd start with the beginner videos listed +++ HERE +++.