Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
Off-Topic
J
jdew Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
J
I'm always curious about what instrument(s) someone plays. Not just "a guitar" but the details as in "a Fender Strat plugged into an old blackface Fender Twin Reverb". Or what keyboard or trumpet or accordian or banjo.....

In my years of playing I've had a number of guitars (electric and acoustic) and amps. Some were horrible, some were just OK, some pretty decent. Some I gave away, some grew legs and ran off to join the circus, and some I sold.

What I've been using for many years...

- electric
Gibson ES-175
Gibson ES-335
Fender Telecaster
Roland JC-120 amp
- acoustic
Martin D-28
Taylor 410

I live near a store that sells only used instruments and has a terrific rather large ever-changing stock and good prices. (Yeah... GAS heaven) I hadn't purchased a new guitar or amp in decades... why? What's wrong with what I'm using? I was just curious what was new and had time on my hands, so I stopped in. Big mistake. (or was it?)

What I purchased recently:

- electric
Boss Katana 50 MKII amp
Fender Standard Strat (MIM) (My third strat... sold the others. Will I keep this one?)
Ibanez AG95
- acoustic
Fender Acoustasonic amp
Ibanez AE275BT (acoustic-electric baritone)
Seagull Performer mini-jumbo (acoustic-electric)
Martin Roadseries D-10 (acoustic-electric)
- stuff
Boss RC-5 loop pedal

I'm really impressed by the value in a lot of what is available in the affordable lines these days. There are some really nice electric and acoustic guitars that don't cost a fortune. They play well and sound good. Really impressive what's available today.

So what are you playing?

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran
Janice:

1943 Martin D-18
1949 Martin 0-15
1990’s Kentucky mandolin
Meinl cajon
Clarinet years ago

Bud:

1953 Kay Swingmaster upright bass

1972 Martin D-35 (employee made) Martin allows or allowed an employee to make a personal model for his/herself. No label.

J&B

Off-Topic
Veteran
Veteran