Page 1 of 2 1 2
Off-Topic
J
Jakob Offline OP
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
J
Did anyone read the BIAB review in the March issue of Electronic Musician (EM)? The author of the article did a decent job of reviewing BIAB but a couple of things I take offense to. The first thing is that he doesn't consider BIAB a serious tool for performance. I know many of you like myself use BIAB for gigs. Up until the economy went South, gigging with BIAB was my main source of income for the last 10 years. The other thing he mentions is BIAB sounding cheesy unless you assign is to external synths or VST/DXi. I might have missed it but I didn't see any mention of using BIAB's included VST/DXi in the article. Even without the DXi, BIAB sounds better than many other products out there. As I mention before I've been performing gigs with BIAB for 10 years. Actually, it's been almost 20 if I count the time I used it with a group when I was in Germany. Long before the real drums and instruments, musicians would come up to me while I was performing and ask me where did I get my sequences. They wanted me to do seq for them. If I were a crook, I could have just taken their money but instead I told them it was BIAB. I heard guys use top notch synths for their backing tracks and they sound "Cheesy" because the drums and the bass are playing the exact same pattern every four bars. That's what makes BIAB different, it doesn't do that. I know I'm preaching or should I say venting to the choir. I would have posted this on Face Book but I know they wouldn't let me post this many characters. Thanks to you Peter and your whole team for making it possible for an average saxophonist to make a living gigging solo!

Dell Studio 16 Laptop i7 with 256 gig SSD
BIAB, Reaper, Encore, Sibelius
Roland SD-50
Off-Topic
Enthusiast
Enthusiast
Just to play devil's advocate here, I do understand what the reviewer means. There are relative degrees of "cheesy".