Go To
Off-Topic
J
Joe V Offline OP
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
J
So this might be an interesting topic - I'll share my most formative life events and motivations, share a big unfulfilled aspiratoin in my life (a disappointment really), and how I've finally almost accepted it, but not quite over it.

I was a school "goody goody" (always got great grades from incredibly hard work - my parents had financial problems, among others, and instilled that if I studied hard in school and got a good job, I wouldn't have those). Also, having a mom with bipolar disorder who got severely sick every 1 to 2 years, and no way to get away from it living in a small apartment, it was hell to be in the house and watch over her.

I started playing guitar at 14 (I'm 54 now), because I absolutely loved music, and because I thought it would help me be more cool, make friends, get chicks, and make some side money. Well, it did give me something to talk about with other kids who I knew that were also learning an instrument - but that's about it. I never really met the right people to be in a band with - they were either too good, beginners, or plane old 'too cool' for me to fit in with. At some point I had hoped to get good enough to be in a wedding band - which was the best paying, steadiest work that was still available back then...that didn't pan out for the same reasons. I did get good enough to give guitar lessons to beginners, and the musical highlights for me were going into the study with a few friends that also played instruments - but that never led to anything else.