Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 >
You need to be logged in to post on the forum
Topic Options
Index
#16883 - 03/12/09 07:49 PM Some advice for loud parties?
Rachael Offline
Expert

I just had a frustrating gig at a 100+ person cocktail party. Before the gig, I set the PA and volume of BIAB to what I thought was a good level. However, during the party the people got so loud, I could not hear the BIAB backing or myself playing. I got lost playing a few time making it a bad hair night. I figured if I turned up the volume the people would get louder so I just dealt with it.

I'm fairly new to playing gigs by myself. I have an Eon10 PA and Roland KC350 KB amp. I play keyboards thorough the KC350. BIAB also feeds into the KC and I feed the KC signal into the Eon for additional support. I sing only through the Eon. I have a monitor but I didn't use it tonight because I was playing right next to the KC. Perhaps that was the problem.

Just wondering what I could do different or should I do anything at all?

Thanks
Rachael

#16884 - 03/12/09 08:35 PM Re: Some advice for loud parties? [Re: Rachael]
Lawrie Offline
Expert

Loc: NSW, Australia
In ear foldback is discrete and probably easier to use in a loud environment than a monitor... Can cost for good gear though.

#16885 - 03/13/09 06:35 AM Re: Some advice for loud parties? [Re: Rachael]
MarioD Offline
Veteran

Loc: Hamlin NY
We used Hot Spot monitors and found them to work extremely well in these types of situations. We used the ones with a volume control as it gave each musician control over their monitors and also virtually eliminated feedback. They have a very small footprint, can be placed on a mic stand (that’s how we used them – we raised them to ear level) and only cost around $130 USD.

I hope this helps.

#16886 - 03/13/09 08:39 AM Re: Some advice for loud parties? [Re: MarioD]
davemilleruk Offline
Journeyman

Loc: Devon UK
Hi Rachael,