Print Thread
Go To
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
J
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
J
I'm new to these real tracks which are very hip, may I say. What I want to know is can I export these tracks as a whole (that is as a band) or as an individual instrumental track to my Cubase program for further editing, etc.? I have learned that these tracks can be converted to aiff files, but can these be manipulated in the same way midi files can by dropping them into Cubase? Any help will be greatly appreciated.

M
Mac Offline
Veteran
Veteran
M
Audio Tracks, such as those created when using RealInstruments from Band in a Box, cannot really be "manipulated" once imported into a DAW such as Cubase, at least not in the sense that true MIDI can be manipulated, such as changing notes to suit what you want to hear, at least not easily.

Those certain RealTracks that have the Trackname Underscored also support Notation, which is MIDI based and pretty much follow the notes that the RealTrack instrument plays at the time, there is a way to export the Notation Data from these and open them as MIDI and thus manipulate note names, note-on, duration, etc. within the MIDI domain, but bear in mind that this performance will no longer be a RealTrack performance, the sound will depend upon your choice and use of whatever MIDI synth/sampler you have available in Cubase. AND, the subtle things such as Velocities, Attack, Decay, Sustain and Release are likely to be lost when doing it that way.