Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
#311528 09/24/15 09:51 AM
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
Expert
OP Offline
Expert
Inspired by eastside eddie, I am trying to finish mixing my songs for my CD (that I have been putzing around on for a couple of years at least!).

I loaded in about 6 or 7 Jimmy Buffet songs from A1A and White Sports Coat amongst my tunes so I could get a relative feel for the sounds and levels.

fergetaboutit! Those JB tunes just sound wonderful. Perfectly mixed, you can hear everything and they have a "sheen" to them that I can't get. Plus they are great songs! My songs just have a "dullness" about them I can't shake. Oh well, what can you do except press forward,

I do realize that they were recorded and mixed in a fine studio and mixed and mastered by folks who knew what they were doing (and on analog, of course). This doesn't do a wav file justice, but here's a sample song: My Lovely Lady by JB. By the way, I do believe that is Steve Goodman playing the acoustic lead stuff.

Maybe I will load some versions to Soundcloud and ask a few folks to do 30 second tests and see what they think.

Now at bandcamp: Crows Say Vee-Eh @ bandcamp or soundcloud: Kevin @ soundcloud
C
Veteran
Veteran
C
Eddie trusted other ears to mix and master his CD. He concentrated on getting clean, good tracks with headroom.

So write the best songs you can, record them the best you can, make judicious real track choices and find the best person you can to mix and master it.

Charlie

BIAB Ultra Pak+ 2024:RB 2024, Latest builds: Dell Optiplex 7040 Desktop; Windows-10-64 bit, Intel Core i7-6700 3.4GHz CPU and 16 GB Ram Memory.
Veteran
Veteran
Originally Posted By: Kemmrich
I loaded in about 6 or 7 Jimmy Buffet songs from A1A and White Sports Coat amongst my tunes so I could get a relative feel for the sounds and levels.

Sounds like a great start.

Let's talk about the "dullness" a bit more.