Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
M
Mike R Offline OP
OP Offline
M
I have had Band in the Box for a few years but I have never really used it as the VSC synth sounds i am using, particularly the guitars, just don't sound very real to me. I am not a great musician, just looking to have fun and I got BIAB to learn to be able to play along with accompaniment without having to figure out how to track my own rythms. I play an 88 key Korg Triton LE that I like to split to use multiple voices in a song along with a midi pedal board and I don't wan't to tie that up doing the accompaniment.

Obviously I would like the best sound out of BIAB for the least amount of expense. While a full up hardware synth seems like overkill for the few voices usually used in the BIAB styles the multisample voices and drums in my Triton blow away the midi sounds from my PC. I am debating whether to look for a rack mount triton used on e-bay, as I am familiar with the setup, or go with a sound module such as a Ketron K2 or get a better software synth. Software seems the cheapest route but do any of the software synths sound as good as a hardware synth?

I have listened to the dare to compare soft synth demos and I guess the Connexant library sounded the best to me although I was still underwhelmed. I listened to some of the songs on ceedee's album that he did using BIAB and they sound amazingly good, so I know BIAB can make great music if the voices are there.

I appreciate your opinions and recomendations,
Thanks,
Mike

Journeyman
Journeyman
There are probably hundreds of software players.
Personally I think Cakewalk's Dimension Pro is excellent.

As long as your sustem has a good soundcard softsynths and samplers are the way to go.

IMO
WSS

Expert
Expert
Hi Mike