We are all at different levels, but I find it interesting to learn from the approach of others - what they do.

So I thought it might be useful to simply create a post for 'what you are currently using BIAB for".

I have been playing keys for about five years. My chief interest is improvisation. I am not so worried about learning other peoples tunes.

A few months back I decided to really lick the chords and scales thing. So I took the blues form and learnt every 7th chord so that I could put a chord down in any inversion anytime, then run scale fragments - like root to fifth up and down - anytime. I then took this through all keys until I could jump in like this anytime. I also worked the blues scale over the changes. It took months of work.
I then went to the minor blues took some simple changes ditto as above, then introduced some minor 2/5/1's using minor seven flat fives and altererd chords. E.g. Cm7b5, F7alt.

This is where I am currently, working these changes throug So I thought it might be useful to simply create a post for 'what you are currently using BIAB for ?". h my fingers. Because the fifth is either sharped or flattened, it threw my brain a little - reprogramming time

One thing I have just started doing (and should have done before maybe) is 'voice leading'. For a while I was stuck on how to convernt all my standard chord change excercises into actual playing, then I realised an exercise which was a 'revelation' to me:

If I kept my right hand shapes within the confines of C to next octave C and just substituted what inversion fitted (so for example a F# triad would be in second inversion) the chord inversions begin to 'sound right'. I dont mean you cant go outside of the self imposed octave, I just mean its a great place to start and the exercise imposes a discipline that helps transverse the rubicon from exercises to scales.

Anyways, thats what I am up to at my current level, not top of the impro mountain yet.