Thanks all for the very helpful information. The reason I am experiment with this is mainly because I am not a good musician but I do love to be able to get a computer to do something I have created - with a little help from real musicians.

I want to create some original melodies (at least that's what I dream of - lol). I have studied the music theory but this does not get me too far when I am faced with a blank screen. In Ableton I can come up with a nice chord progression and a drum track and this does get me the ability record a melody by recording myself humming to the backing. The humming is then converted to midi in Ableton and then, with some adjustments, I get my melody (for what it's worth)

Anyway, since I have a vast range of midi songs on disk I thought I might be able to press these into service by giving me at least a chord progression and a drum track. RealBand is really good at letting me load a midi file and automatically connecting the appropriate instrument (albeit Coyote, but that's good enough for this purpose). I can also correct the instrument names in RealBand before exporting to Ableton (quite often if I load directly into Ableton I get names like 'track 1, track 2' etc which doesn't help when I want to connect an appropriate VST in Ableton.

I also like the chord detection feature and I appreciate the caveat pointed out regarding it's reliability, but anything that helps is great for me. What I do is discover the key and then transpose it to C for a major scale and A minor for a minor scale - so that I only have to deal with the white keys when working with my midi controller keyboard in Ableton.