Originally Posted By: props2
Thanks guys for your input. Calkwalk is probably the way I should go, because I need to learn. At the same time I am in the camp of "I hate to buys tools twice". Its a sickness of mine. I don't mind spending the money if it really works for me.I have looked at Kontakt and was intrigued by it,but I dont know what I dont know.I have not done any recording...heck I dont even have an interface yet,as I am still learning about those. My primary interest is making quality backing tracks. BIAB has been great at getting me hooked in this stuff. Sheesh...its never going to end,is it? Guys, thanks again for taking your time to help out. I will take everyone's advise and try to make an informed decision. Maybe hardware has to come into play??

You make a few good points here..... Getting Cakewalk Music Creator also gives you a fully functional DAW to use for mixing. It's very easy to learn and use. Your last line is so very important.

Yes... you should also be looking at hardware if you are going to be more than just a casual user. And from your interest in better quality synths, it sounds like you are planning to get deeper into this home recording thing.

Absolutely, you want to be looking at the USB based interfaces which have the required number of inputs you need..... most home studio guys and gals can easily get by with a simple two input interface. Also be sure it has phantom power for condenser mics, and that it uses ASIO as it's driver. Avoid the multi-function gizmos and buy a solid, dedicated, musical interface.

That is one decision you will not regret. Get a good one because it's the heart of your studio and a good interface will last you for years and provide superb service and make the recording process easy.