First Welcome.

I still have & use a QS8 (and have a Fusion 8HD and Montage 7 and a few odds and ends boards around) – it is still a very useful board.

I have no “hands on” experience with the Nectar other than quick look up on Sweetwater to see what it was. However, based on specs I read you CANNOT, as you suggest,

“… plug the Nectar board into the Alesis' MIDI thru port.”

The QS8 is 5 PIN DIN MIDI only (no USB ports) board and the Nectar is USB only (no 5-pin MIDI connections) board.

However, assuming your laptop has TWO (available) USB ports connect UM-ONE (or similar USB to MIDI cable or box) to QS8 and the Nectar to another laptop USB port and configure Sonar to use both MIDI ports for I/O.

If your laptop only has one USB port (unlikely), or only has one you can use,then you may have to think about how/when to use each keyboard. The obvious solution (a USB HUB) is not one I recommend long term. A USB HUB when connecting a “USB to MIDI” device (like UM-ONE, external synth module, etc.) to a PC (desktop or especially laptop) may, notice I DID NOT SAY WILL, cause issues – timing, note glitches, intermittent strangeness, etc.

But others here might have other opinions/experiences.

It hurts nothing to TRY and use a HUB but if you do I HIGHLY recommend a POWERED hub (not a “powered by the PC BUS” HUB).

Trying a HUB won’t hurt anything - it just may not work or not work well.

All my gear, with exception of my iRig Keys Pro, has at least a 5-PIN MIDI out connection. Even my You Rock Guitar has a 5 pin connection.

Some units (Fantom XR, Integra7, Montage 7) also have USB connections but I generally don’t use those USB connections for anything other than editing the synths.

I connect all my gear, including my guitar rack, to MIDI patch bays for better real-time PC-to-synths, synth-to-PC, and synth-to-synth’s inter/intra-connections, control & configuration (or in mil jargon C3 - Command, Control, and Communication).