Originally Posted By: 90 dB
There ain't no money in playing music. Never was. Never will be.

Regards,

Bob

Depends.

I've been a pro musician most of my life. I did have two day gigs, two tries at being 'normal' while still gigging on the weekends. Neither one lasted more than a few years, and I found that normal is terribly overrated.

And I do have the BiaB sideline thing. I wrote my first styles for myself and my friends encouraged me to sell them. I get to keep some of the money I make with BiaB but the shopping cart, credit card authorization company, credit card merchant's account, web host, insurance company, tax collector, and sub-contractors, etc. make over half of what I take in. I do make enough though to keep me home during the slow season. Before this I used to do cruise ship gigs in the summer when the tourists are not in Florida.

OK, so I would have made more money if I had used my electronics schooling as an electronics engineer. That's a fact. And one of my day gigs, the one that lasted 5 years was as a Cable TV field engineer. Good pay, lousy job, high pressure and a company that went out of their way to make things more difficult.

However, doing music and nothing but music I bought and paid off a house one lot away from the east coast of the mainland of Florida (to the east a 2 mile wide lagoon and then a thin barrier island), I owned a 23' sailboat, I've bought new cars but instead of BMWs, they have been Minivans (got to haul the gear), and I've taken yearly vacations to Asia, Europe, Africa, North America, Central America and 49 out of 50 US States.

I'm not rich by any stretch of the imagination, but I'm comfortable and not in debt. I am frugal, I don't buy things that aren't important or necessary, and I spend my money wisely.

Most importantly of all, I'm living my life on my own terms, I make my own decisions and either win or learn by them, and I'm not a wage-slave to some faceless corporation.