Print Thread
Go To
Band-in-a-Box for Windows
G
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
G
Is there a procedure to install BIAB on a USB drive, so I can alternate between my laptop and desktop?

I have BIAB 2021 Mega and 2017 Ultra - far too much data to fit into my laptop 128 GB disk. I had considered a disk upgrade to 1TB, but it means opening up the laptop case and levering the keyboard off. I can do it, but it takes time and its a bit risky.

So I bought a USB 3.0 1TB drive just for BIAB.

One thing I'm unsure about is how to install BIAB on 2 pcs, but somehow keep the files synced. Also 2021 and 2017 versions seem to have quite different folder layouts - is it better to use the 2021 Download Manager to install 2017 Ultra sets?

EDIT: BIAB 2021 pops up error messages about partially complete Real Tracks, which make no sense. I'm using:

D:/BB
D:/BBData/Drums
D:/BBData/RealTracks

where D: is the external USB drive.

I'm a retired software developer, I have a feeling there is a glitch in the 2021 installer.
It insists on installing loops in D:/BB/RealTracks, instead of D:/BBData/RealTracks that I specified.

What I really need is the PG Music image used for hard drive products, just the option 1 minimal install, to add to my USB 3.0 drive.

Thanks
Paul

Last edited by grandad_paul; 07/29/23 11:39 PM.
Journeyman
Journeyman
I have BiaB installed on a 2TB Thunderbolt 3 external SSD. I just did a standard install to D:/bb. /Drums and /RealTracks are folders under /bb. As far as keeping work on the desktop and laptop in sync, I'd just use the /Songs folder under D:/bb and move the USB drive between the desktop and the laptop. No need to have a separate install of BiaB on the desktop.

Also, I'm just wondering why you felt the need to use /BBData and not just go with the default file structure. It's not like you're trying to use two different drives and splitting BiaB between them.