Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
RealBand
J
Journeyman
OP Offline
Journeyman
J
I am new to Computer recording, but would like to start..
Up until now I have been building my tracks in BIAB, rendering & saving as individual wave tracks, then importing them into my Korg D3200 DAW, then adding vocals, instruments, harmony vocals, etc..
My question is, I see so many users creating tracks in BIAB, then exporting them to Sonar X$, X1, & to Pro Tools, & Reaper. WHY?? Are they so much better than Real Band.? Is Real Band not capable of delivering a finished product? Is it because it's too hard to use?, not enough effects?
I have the latest Version 2014, of BiaB/ Real Band.

RealBand
R
Veteran
Veteran
R
I use RealBand a lot, and i own Reaper, Sonar X-1, Multitrackstudio, and Studio one v2.

Realband is very capable of completing a project. There are a few features that some of these other programs have that RB does not, but the basic stuff is there. as far as effects there are some great ones in RB, but there are a ton out there that will work with it as well.

I did a project last year, and the track bed came from BiaB, and i moved it over to Sonar, Reaper, and RB, then i added several tracks to it vocals, guitar parts that i wanted to play, and mixed the song. the end results were very telling to me, not only was the RB version just as good, but in my opinion was the best of the three.

What you will find is that people work where their workflow is familiar. If they started in a cakewalk product they will be more comfortable there.

Lastly the features that are maybe not in RB, or are not quite as polished are few anymore, and RB has things that none of these others can even touch.

A few things RB needs, one is better VSTi capability, there are a few VSTis that it does not handle well. These are the ones that require a tempo lock to fully function, like drum modules that have creation or brain function.