Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Recording, Mixing, Performance and Production
semar Offline OP
Apprentice
OP Offline
Apprentice
Dear all,

I play usually piano and keyboard. Lately I've bought an e-bass and I've having fun playing with it, muting the bass track in BiaB/Realband - and that makes really fun :-)

Now I want add an e-guitar to my instrument arsenal, and as a e-guitar beginner, I need some wise suggestions on the model.

I do usually play pop and soul music, no heavy metal.

I need a warm sound, and often I'll use the Wah-Wah effect to obtain that particular rythmic sound usually in the 80's and 90's songs. I guess that all depends on the effect used (FYI I have already a Stomplab IIG ), and not on the guitar.

Since there are different models out there, like Stratocaster, Telecaster, Les Paul, and so on, which one, in your opinion, shoult I get to obtain that sound ?

The model I'm looking for should be easy to play and have a warm sound, and should last a long time. The budget is between 300-400 Euros. Personally I find the shape of a PRS nicer in respect of a Stratocaster.

One thing more, if you are aware of some good and free on-line/youtube e-guitar tutorial, please let me know. I need to play, I hate too mach theory :-)

Thanks in advance,
Sergio.

Veteran
Veteran
I have had great success buying Rondo guitars: http://www.rondomusic.com/

I have a couple of them and they are great sounding and should last a long time. One of my students has an LP copy and it sounds great.

If you are looking for a real warm sound look for a hollow or semi-hollow body guitar. If you like a warm jazz sound look for them then put flat would strings on it.

I should add that I have been playing guitar for 55 years and I have had a lot of experience with guitars so if you need any more help just give a yell.

I want my last spoken words to be "I hid a million dollars under the........................"