Go To
#39078 10/09/09 09:44 PM
RealBand
W
Enthusiast
OP Offline
Enthusiast
W

I am working with a VSTi plug-in that implements a range of World Instruments. I See that I can attach it to a MIDI track in RB and drive it from that. I am a complete noob when it comes to VSTi plug-ins. Is there a nice tutorial that explains what I am expected to do with Bank and Preset to configure a VSTi specifically for each track? Currently, I can hook it up on each track, but as I click from one track to another, any changes I make in the VSTi's control panel just get dropped.

I know enough that VSTi's store their setting in files. This also tells me that there is probably a particular strategy that people use to name these files and make sure that they don't get lost if you move things around on your hard drive.

The BB and RB manuals don't discuss this (or maybe I can't find it). I guess they think that people know this VSTi stuff already. I am clueless about it.

-Bill

RealBand
L
Veteran
Veteran
L
VSTis vary in the way they work, some have "ReadMe" documents, a few have manuals. Some are for single instruments such as Trumpet which, to set up, I would use the Classic Tracks Window (the alternative is the Main Tracks Window but that is more complicated). Enter a number between 17 and 32 in the Column PT (Output Port) and then click on the "DXi" Icon at the top of the Main Window. To assoociate a specific DXi/VSTi plugin to the Output Port, click on the first Plugin Box and negotiate to the name of the VSTi plugin you wish to use. Click and the name will appear in the Plugin Box. The other three boxes can be used for Effects Plugins. You are now clear to go. For other tracks repeat the process of Port selection followed by Dxi/VSti allocation.