Next Thread
Print Thread
Go To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
Off-Topic
Journeyman
OP Offline
Journeyman
I'm no expert, but a few years back I and a friend wrote several songs that were copyrighted with the Library of Congress. This man that I knew had written several songs and collected royalties off of them. Even in Spain, he tutored me on the copyright law, but "I am no expert," by any means; that is why I titled this post this. This guy had way more experience than I did and I learned practically everything he knew about the copyright law. So, he was always against people doing cover songs. For the longest time I believed a person could get you put in jail or you could suffer being find or from being taken to court and sued. So, I never did any cover songs at that time that were copyrighted by other people before. Otherwise I would've been on YouTube a long time ago. Then one day I just decided to start doing cover songs; and I had a fairly successful YouTube channel because there was a up and coming YouTube star that put me on their channel which almost generated over 1 million hits. So, I got real worried about this. So I pulled down my YouTube channel that had that many hits and I had over 200,000 subscribers. I kind of felt bad about this because the person had put me on their YouTube channel was let down and I feel like I let those 200,000 people down. Well, I decided to create another YouTube channel and asked the person if they would put a link back up to my other YouTube channel and they said no! Not because I was doing cover songs, but because I let a lot of their subscribers down and they wouldn't post a link to my channel anymore. I know that this has nothing to do about the copyright law. But, one day, I got curious and I did call the copyright office and I asked them if you were allowed to do a cover song and they told me that you were allowed to do a cover song, not only that I called ASCAP and they also told me that you were allowed to do cover song's he said "U